Carne Asada Taco Bowls

It’s finally here!!! NFC Championship game day!! 12th man is loud and proud up in this apartment today and, like any good Hawk, game day food and drink has been heavy on my mind all weekend. But do I celebrate properly and stay in good standing with my gut? Below was my final decision.

The Harmon Tap Room in Tacoma serves an amazing carne asada taco that I ordered more often then not back in my gluten filled days. In a moment of severe craving desperation I concocted a similar product using popular items in my fridge. The final product, a carne asada steak taco bowl with lemon aioli dressing! YUM YUM YUM! Tonight I served it up with sweet potato fries and chipotle dipping aiolo (will post later) for a perfect game day meal!

What you’ll need:

2 1 inch thick slices of steak ( I prefer flank steak)

1 tablespoon minched garlic

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

I cup/ 1 can corn

1 can black beans

4 cups shredded spinach

1 cup pico de gallo

Lemon Aioli:

1/2 cup mayo (I prefer Soy Free Veganaise)

2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp fresh grated lemon

the juice from a small fresh lemon

a pinch of salt

First step is to set a medium sized pan on medium high. Next cut up the steak into tiny pieces. (The smaller the better in my opinion but really the size is up to you)  Set these aside. If you are using frozen corn with this recipe I suggest you take it out and microwave in a bowl with water for 2 minutes to defrost, drain then set aside. When the pan is heated, Add olive oil and minced garlic followed by the cubes of steak. Cook for about 30 seconds then add Worcestershire sauce. Continue to cook steak for another minutes. Steak pieces should be medium. Drain then set aside. Put the pan back on the oven and add corn and black beans to warm. After a minute add the steak back to the pan and continue to cook for 3 minutes. During this time I suggest slicing up the spinach. Cut into thin slices so it resembles shredded lettuce.  Turn off the stove and set steak mixture aside.

In a small bowl combine all ingredients for lemon aioli and stir (soooooo easy). If you are preparing homemade pico de gallo you can pix that up now.

In a bowl, put spinach on the bottom followed by steak mixture and top with pico de gallo and 1-2 tablespoons lemon aioli and serve!

Leave a Reply

