To prove them wrong

20140120-122644.jpg

I saw this great pic on Pinterest this morning that said “reasons to be fit: to prove that my genes don’t dictate my body, I do” and I melted.

This is why I work so hard. More often than not, my pride gets the best of me. But at some point after I was diagnosed it started paying off. I was so angry about how “unfair” it was. Angry about what my future could look like and most of all angry about how much time I had already spent in pain and in the dark. I refused to let my disease dictate my life anymore! Fuck my disease, my genes, fuck this raw deal! I’m gunna be healthy, whatever way I can.

Every fit woman you see has a story, a fire under the belt, a deafening voice they couldn’t avoid anymore. This was mine.

Leave a Reply

