Meal Prep: Spicy Chili

01737d8146468dd90f737024b88219dc0e16879b96

This is hands down one of my favorite meal prep items because it makes soooooo much food and tastes amazing! Chili is just one of those things that I could eat every day and never tire of. Im sure someone will disagree with me but I feel its one of the few foods that fits all seasons. In a not so distant past, I loved to add sour cream and cheese to my chili but obviously that’s not an option anymore. So these days I add a dollop of full fat coconut milk to make the chili creamy! It works like a charm : )

As far as the meal prep portion of the recipe goes, I like to freeze the chili in 8oz jars. This makes lunch planning throughout the week so much easier. It yields 15/20, 8oz portions!!! Once the chili is done cooking I let it sit for about a half hour to cool slightly. I then divide chili into individual containters and wait to cover until they are cooled. Do not freeze hot jars. Because of this I always suggest making the Chili in the afternoon. The first time I made this I made it at 7 and ended up staying up WAAAYY too late waiting for them too cool.

This is only half of the final batch

This is only half of the final batch

Warning: This recipe is not paleo! While I eat paleo for the most part, I still struggle to cut out beans from my diet. I understand the reasoning behind not including legumes in the paleo diet but I still struggle with it. Some day I learn how to cut them out, but for now I’m going to eat my damn chili and I’m gunna like it : )

Ingredients You’ll Need:

3 Tbs Olive Oil
4 Cloves Garlic1 Yellow Onion Chopped
1 Tbsp Sea Salt
1/2 Tbsp Red Pepper Flakes
1/2 Tbsp Chili Powder
1/2 Cayenne Pepper
1 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Turmeric
32 oz of Tomato Puree
1 Jalapeño Roasted ( I put mine in the oven straight on the rack until it starts to shrivel, usually about 15 mins @ 350)
4 Cups Organic Vegetable Broth
3 Bell Peppers, chopped finely ( I prefer Red and Green but you can use whatever kind you prefer)
1&1/2 lbs Organic Ground Beef Cooked & Drained ( you can also use ground turkey here too)
2 Cups Organic Black Beans
2 Cups Organic Red Beans
2 Cups Organic Kidney Beans
2 Cups Organic Frozen/ Fresh Corn
2 Medium Zucchini

Step 1: Brown Beef in Medium Pan, drain and set aside.

Step 2: Chop onion, garlic and peppers (keep separate)

Step 3: Heat up large pot on medium high heat. Once heated add olive oil. Sauté onions and garlic
5-6 minutes

Step 4: Add salt and continue to cook until caramelized

Step 5: Add all the dry spices and sauté another 1-2 minutes.

Step 6: Add broth, peppers, jalapeños, beef, and tomato puree. Bring to a low boil and turn down to a simmer

Step 7: Simmer for 20 minutes then add beans and corn

Step 8: Simmer another 20 minutes until thickened.

I al also a huge fan of putting spur cream in my chili. Obviously this is not a “clean” option. So instead, I had started adding a dollop of coconut creme instead : )

For coconut creme, take a can of full fat coconut milk and chill in the fridge for at least 6 hours of until creme and water have separated. The creme will rise to the top. Separate the creme and water in to different containers. The water can be used in smoothies throughout the week. The cream can be added straight to chili or can be used for other things including sweet coconut whip!

So there ya go! Happy meal planning folks : )

Leave a Reply

