Lemon Aioli

20140416-113443.jpg

My dad returned from his recent trip to California with 4 large fresh lemons from my aunt and uncles trees. Seeing as I put lemon in waaaay too much these days I was quite elated when I found out he was gifting them to ME!! 

Now I just have to decide what to use them in. Many recipes to consider. I don’t want to waste such precious gifts on something trivial. (I put waaay to much stake in my food these days lol) I know for a fact that 1 will be used hfor Salmon on Friday but what else?!?! Maybe aioli with some steak…

At dinner with my family the other night my father says out of the blue “that’s what I need to find! I promised Monica (our aunt) Id find her a good aioli recipe.” My sister of course lights up, looks at me and says “Ashley makes an awesome lemon aioli!!!” Can I just say, proudest moment of my life : ) Not only did I receive a compliment but it came from quite the picky eater lol. At 17, life is all coffee and pizza and burritos so the fact that I got her to eat something called aioli in a dish with no gluten or dairy still astounds me. 

I know in have posted this recipe before (see Carne Asada Taco Bowls) but for the sake of speed and efficiency I decided to repost the recipe all by itself. It really does deserve singular applause for being such a simple, delicious addition to any meal. I’m also in the process of writing up my post for my chipotle aioli so I thought this might be a nice little precursor. 

If you have any questions or need suggestions on what to serve it with, feel free to comment below. 

Have an awesome hump day peeps : )

Lemon Aioli:

1/2 cup mayo (I prefer Soy Free Veganaise)

2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp fresh grated lemon

the juice from a small fresh lemon

a pinch of salt

In a small bowl combine all ingredients and stir. On occasion, I make three times the recipe to use throughout the week. In this case, seal in an air right container and store for up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

