Paleo Blackberry Raspberry Pie

I’ll be the first to admit, I have absolutely zero will power when a berry pie is in front of me. Seriously, blackberry pie might be the one thing on the planet I love more than peanut butter covered bacon (mmmm bacon). Ive never been a big fan of fancy pies though. Forget the apple pie or strawberry rhubarb while your at it. Im a bery pie girl, through and through. Warm with a lattice top and a little scoop of coconut whip on the side. YUM!!!

While I truly enjoy eating pie, it’s really the activity of baking the pie that warms me the most. There is something soothing about the process. Like no matter what else has happened in the day, I’m calmed by the assurance that mixing well known ingredients together creates something so classic and comforting. Picture Amy Adams in Julie and Julia while making chocolate creme: “I love that after a day when nothing is sure—and when I say ‘nothing’ I mean nothing!—you can come home and absolutely know that if you add eggs yolks to chocolate and sugar and milk, it will get thick.”

untitled (2)

That’s how I feel about reducing berries and making crust from scratch. Someday’s it seemed as though the only thing I knew how to do right was bake pie, and when I’m done, there was this amazingly satisfying treat in front of me.

But you see, its a dangerous thing for a single girl to bake pies. Who is going to eat them? In college I had roomates and guys friends who could help me split the shame. But nowadays, a whole pie in my apartment means a whole pie in my tummy. Therefor, I rarely bake them anymore. But when a good friend asked me to make a paleo version of my favorite pie for her wedding I jumped at the chance!!

Now if you’re looking for a smooth perfectly polished crust a la Martha Steward this  is not the receipe  for you. I learned the hard way that in order to get a lattice top from a gluten free dough, there is a lot more time and effort needed than this little fit girl was able to give. This recipe is easy peasy and tastes amazing but its a bottom only crust.

Filling:

3 cups blackberries
3 cups raspberries
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1/3 cup raw honey

In a medium sauce pan add water and berries and place over medium heat. Stir occasionally for 20 minutes or until the berries have reduced. Add remaining ingredients and continue to stir for 5 minutes. Take off the burner and let cool while making crust.

Crust: I stole this crust recipe from ElanasPantry.com. I tried a couple different recipes  and this was the only one that worked well with a berry pie filling with little effort. Her recipe calls for 2 tbsp. coconut oil but the first crust I made was a little oily so the second one I used slightly less.

2 cups almond flour/meal
2 tbsp. coconut oil
1 egg

Pulse almond flour in a food processor (a high powered blender works well too). Add eggs and coconut oil and blend until dough is formed. Press evenly into 9 inch baking pan and cook on 350 degrees for 4 minutes.

Let the crust cool for 5 minutes then pour in filling. Put back in the oven and bake for 10 minutes.

Simply, easy peasy paleo summer pie!

 20140524-083322-30802109.jpg

Leave a Reply

